Perfecting the Work


I have found that I end up perfecting the work when I paint things over and over again. When I first started watercolor painting, I found a tiger lily bush while out walking one day. The bush was so full (about twenty years ago) that it fascinated me. As I studied the flowers, the shapes of the petals really caught my eye. They were curly and spotted and so beautiful. So, for weeks, I painted tiger lilies. I did so many paintings of them because they were difficult to master, being a beginning watercolor painter.

I took many photos of them and I painted many different angles until I had perfected tiger lilies design. Watercolor painting is a very difficult medium to master. It does take patience, as does the creative process itself. Painting consistently will make one an expert. Even though you were born with creative ability, you still need lessons. In my earlier days, I sketched with charcoal pencils, pastels, and dabbled in oil painting. I took classes as the art museums near where I lived.

I had always wanted to learn watercolor painting, but it seemed I never had time for it. I was trying to master the other mediums. Finally, about twenty years ago, I had an opportunity to learn from my uncle, who encouraged me to be consistent in my painting. He was right! My uncle, Daniel Walker, was an accomplished and well-known artist in Warwick, RI and an art teacher as well. He died three years ago. If you are going to learn any creative discipline, you need someone to apprentice you.

About cavanaughcreation

I am a designer, free lance writer, business consultant, and owner of a music school. I write business and finance articles and design custom clothing and gifts for the home. I enjoy the beach and reading.
This entry was posted in Art Techniques and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

